Jedi Wright | Sr. UX Designer

UX Design & Instruction

UX Reading List #design #ia #ux

A colleague and mentor of mine recommended early on in my training with him to keep a UX reading list for reference and sharing. Well as he’s all set to start teaching his first UX class through the UCLA Extension, I thought it time to brush off the digital spiders/webs from my list on Goodreads for consideration.

In my opinion, it’s a great mix of theory, technical know-how, history, and leisure reading around not only contemporary thinking but great, fantastical high tech creations dreamt up by some of the best writers in the fiction, sci-fi, and fantasy fields.

Some of the tomes, like Information Graphics, may require a trip to your school or agency’s library unless you feel up to dishing out the hefty price on what is undoubtedly one of the best collections of infographics, sitemaps, and the like, ever compiled.

Here’s my list from Goodreads, in no particular order, and which I will continue to add to and refine over time:

The Design of Everyday Things http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16867.The_Design_of_Everyday_Things

Human Computer Interaction Handbook: Fundamentals, Evolving Technologies, and Emerging Applications, Third Edition http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14616962-human-computer-interaction-handbook

Responsive Web Design (A Book Apart #4) http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9815906-responsive-web-design

Axure RP 6 Prototyping Essentials http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13501605-axure-rp-6-prototyping-essentials

Pragmatic Thinking and Learning: Refactor Your Wetware http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3063393-pragmatic-thinking-and-learning

Above the Fold: A Detailed Look at 100 Great Web Sites http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9820935-above-the-fold

A Project Guide to UX Design: For User Experience Designers in the Field or in the Making http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4565900-a-project-guide-to-ux-design

Sketching User Experiences: Getting the Design Right and the Right Design http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/980280.Sketching_User_Experiences

Information Architecture for the World Wide Web: Designing Large-Scale Web Sites http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/70132.Information_Architecture_for_the_World_Wide_Web

Designing Interactions by Bill Moggridge http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/258476.Designing_Interactions_With_CDROM_

Design Is the Problem: The Future of Design Must be Sustainable http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6543483-design-is-the-problem

Everything Sings: Maps for a Narrative Atlas http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9628149-everything-sings

Ordering Disorder: Grid Principles for Web Design http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9648254-ordering-disorder

Communicating Design: Developing Web Site Documentation for Design and Planning, 2/E http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10020582-communicating-design

Mental Models: Aligning Design Strategy with Human Behavior http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2875137-mental-models

Information Graphics http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13162988-information-graphics

Next Post

Previous Post

Leave a Reply

© 2017 Jedi Wright | Sr. UX Designer

Theme by Anders Norén